2005 Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers

Tags: Press Releases

Jacksonville, Florida – (NASDAQ: LSTR) Landstar System, Inc., a safety-first non-asset-based provider of global transportation and logistics services, has recognized 84 men and women for their outstanding safety records and professionalism behind the wheel.

The business capacity owners (BCOs) – Landstar's term for the independent contractors who provide the company with transportation capacity – were honored as Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers at a recent awards banquet in Jacksonville .

Collectively, these 84 BCOs have a total of 99 million miles of safe driving – a distance that would cover the 4 million miles of public roads in the United States some 25 times. On average, it takes a truck operator 10 years to travel a million miles.

Leading the 2005 class are Scotty Collett, Diane Benjamin and Al Biedowicz. Collett is the second Landstar BCO to reach 4 million miles without an accident or freight claim. Benjamin and Biedowicz are the first BCOs to reach the 1 million mark for Landstar Express America, which specializes in expedited freight.

"The entire Landstar family is extremely proud of these men and women whose professionalism and driving skills exemplify the discipline and focus on safety that Landstar business capacity owners display every day," said Landstar President and CEO Henry Gerkens.

Floyd Howard of Bono, Arkansas, Don Lee of McKenzie, Alabama, and Allen Waldvogel of Manhattan, Illinois, reached the 3 million mile mark, while six BCOs achieved 2 million miles of safe driving. They are: Jon Barnes of Pensacola, Florida, Ray Barnes of Pensacola, Florida, Archie Barrett of Kingsport, Tennessee, David Carson of Wheatland, Iowa, John Dyer of Chrisney, Indiana, and Larry Morgan of Weaver, Alabama. In addition, 74 BCOs were honored for driving one million consecutive miles without an accident or freight claim.

The 84 BCOs represent Landstar's largest class of Million Mile Safe Drivers since 2000 and bring the total number of active BCOs who have earned the title to 465. The complete list of 2005 Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers is also available on www.landstar.com.

About Landstar:

Landstar System, Inc. delivers safe, specialized transportation services to a broad range of customers world-wide. The Company identifies and fulfills shippers' needs through the coordination of individual businesses comprised of independent sales agents and third-party transportation capacity providers. Landstar's carrier group, which is comprised of Landstar Gemini, Inc., Landstar Inway, Inc., Landstar Ligon, Inc., Landstar Ranger, Inc. and Landstar Carrier Services, Inc., delivers excellence in complete over-the-road transportation services. Landstar's global logistics group, which is comprised of Landstar Global Logistics, Inc. and its subsidiaries Landstar Express America, Inc. and Landstar Logistics, Inc., provides international and domestic, multimodal (over-the-road, air, ocean and rail) transportation, expedited, warehousing and contract logistics services. All Landstar operating companies are certified to ISO 9001:2000 quality management system standards. Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville , Florida . Its common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock Market® under the symbol LSTR.


Darrell Hunt, Coosada

Don Lee, 3 Million Miles, McKenzie

Larry Morgan, 2 Million Miles, Weaver

Eugene Owens, Lincoln


Gerald Henry, Benson

Robert Long, Apache Junction


Floyd Howard 3 Million Miles, Bono

Virginia Martin, Hampton

Larry Senn, Malvern


Ellis Butler, Fullerton

John Hinckley, Winnetka

Daniel Perez, San Fernando

Oscar Velasquez, Long Beach


Ercan Aktas, Ft. Lauderdale

Jon Barnes 2 Million Miles, Pensacola

Ray Barnes 2 Million Miles, Pensacola

Raymond Butts, New Smyrna Bch.


Johnny Corry, Jesup

George Gillis, Sparta


Diane Benjamin, Loves Park

Al Biedowicz, Rockford

Avery Dean, Hillsdale

Kenneth Mitchell, Carmi

Allen Waldvogel, 3 Million Miles, Manhattan

Linda Williams, Sandoval


John Dyer, 2 Million Miles, Chrisney

Henry Faber, Fishers

Randy Goller, Jasper

Louis Hilbert, Whiteland

Donald Knuth, Plainfield

DeWayne Spence, Wilkinson

Basil Young, Indianapolis


David Carson, 2 Million Miles, Wheatland


Joseph Robison, Edna


Fletcher Gayheart, Eastern

Fred Jarvis, Nortonville

Guy Laman, Dunnville

Normand Lizotte Jr., Falls of Rough

Burt McKinney Jr., Wingo


Clark Coleman, Baton Rouge


Benjamin Willcutt, Haydenville


Paul Boitnott, Grand Rapids

Ronnie Coulter, Clyde

Frederick Foster, Niles

Charles Halsey, Vernon

Arthur Ransom, Grand Rapids


Samuel Riley, Enterprise

James Sanders Sr., Corinth


Gordon Coen, Rosebud

Franklin Van Winkle, Winona

Craig Williams, Columbia

New Jersey

Yakov Tsvilin, East Brunswick

New York

James Cusick, Marietta

Damon Davis, Watertown

John Nohle, Adams Center

North Carolina

Samuel Blue, Benson

Wayne Powers, Siler City


Thomas Corkern Sr., Canton

Thomas Crockett, Massillon


Jeffrey Thompson, Del City


Earl Altland, Thomasville

David Clemens, Wellsboro

Joseph Hlatky Jr., Mann's Choice

Mark Miglicio, York

Jack Miller, Wellsboro

Elwood Swank Sr., Rockwood

Terry Walter, Muncy

Murray Wingrave, Girard

Thomas Womer, Sayre


Archie Barrett, 2 Million Miles, Kingsport

Larry Bolden, Bolivar

John Certain, Hendersonville

Scott Collett, 4 Million Miles, Waverly

Ralph Jones, Blountville


William Asbury, Burleson

Frank Beltran, Dallas

Raymond Fontana, Big Spring

Norman Melton, Canton


Alan Poole, Heber City

West Virginia

Donald Crum, Huntington


Michael Paul, DeForest


Keith Campbell, Ontario

Jim Fedorowich, Ontario

Rodney Smith, Ontario