Landstar Honors Newest Class of Million Mile Safe Drivers

Tags: Press Releases

Jacksonville, Florida (NASDAQ-LSTR) Landstar System, Inc., a non-asset based provider of integrated supply chain solutions delivering safe, specialized transportation, warehousing and logistics services, has recognized 93 men and women for their outstanding safety records and professionalism behind the wheel.

The business capacity owners (BCOs) were honored as Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers at a recent awards banquet in Jacksonville, Florida. BCO is Landstar’s term for the independent contractors who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease arrangements.

Collectively, these 93 BCOs have safely driven a total of 106 million miles – a distance that would cover the 4 million miles of public roads in the United States 27 times. On average, it takes a truck operator 10 years to travel a million miles. This distance would take the typical driver of a passenger vehicle 67 years – around the time of their 83rd birthday – to complete.

Leading the 2010 class is 3 Million Mile Safe Driver Mark Webb of Christiansburg, Virginia.

In addition, 11 BCOs reached the 2 million mile mark: Kenneth Bramm, Covington, Pennsylvania; Robert DeRuiter, Freeport, Illinois; David Edinger, Tully, New York; Kenneth Johnston, Urbana, Missouri; Ralph Jones, Blountville, Tennessee; Loyal Dean Koehl, Tunnel Hill, Georgia; Charles Millar, Radford, Virginia; Jeffery Oerman, Jonesboro, Arkansas; Ronald Reinhardt, Lena, Wisconsin; John Ross, Greenville, Virginia; Gary Siefken, Fulton, Illinois.

Eighty one BCOs were honored for the first time for driving 1 million consecutive miles without a preventable accident.

“Each year it gives me great pride to announce our new class of Million Mile Safe Drivers. These men and women represent the talent, hard work and dedication to safety that make up the core values of Landstar,” said Landstar Chairman, President and CEO Henry Gerkens. “Their safety and professionalism behind the wheel is to be commended.”

This class of 93 brings the total number of active BCOs who have earned the Million Mile title to 660.

The Class of 2010 Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers

Jayne Brown, Smiths Station

David Dean, Vinemont

Albert Rogers, Grove Hill


Michael Case, Sr., Glendale

Stephan Farnsworth, Tempe

Mohamed Idris, Phoenix

Eric Moss, Chandler Heights

Stephen Smith, New River


Jeffery Oerman - 2 Million Miler, Jonesboro


Ronnie Baughn, Apple Valley


Daniel Hudler, Lake Alfred

Peter Peterkin, Orlando

Duke Smith, Kissimmee

Ernesto Trujillo, Kissimmee

Juan Urra, Tampa

Vincent Volk, Okeechobee


Loyal Dean Koehl - 2 Million Miler, Tunnel Hill

Susan Pardue, Clarkesville


Robert DeRuiter - 2 Million Miler, Freeport

James Mollett, Greenville

John O’Brien, Eldorado

Jaroslaw Padlo, Mount Prospect

Gary Siefken - 2 Million Miler, Fulton


Ken Graf, Newhall


Matt Cairns, Batesville

Donald Cash, Connersville

Danny Dale, Anderson

Jovan Laporsek, Dyer


Kenneth Dillon, Clearfield

Larry Lampton, Madisonville

Doris McCord, Hopkinsville


Winston Black, Baton Rouge


Stephen Shenton, Belcamp


Kevin Carty, Gaines

James Revis, Escanaba

Patrick Smith, Bellevue


Glenn Hanback, Dittmer

Charles Harrill, Lebanon

Kenneth Johnston - Million Miler, Urbana

Benjamin Smith, Neosho


John Neddenriep, Lincoln

New Hampshire

Roger Bishop, Alstead

Bruce Myers, North Conway

New Mexico

Roger Falloon, Stanley

Ubaldo Serna, Las Cruces

New York

David Edinger - 2 Million Miler, Tully

Matthew Edinger, Tully

Michael Houser, Tully

North Carolina

David Reding, Fayetteville

Samuel Tatum, Winston Salem


Anthony Ferrari, Brook Park

William Fisher, Jr., East Canton

William Jenkins, Cleveland

Michael Kurpyl, Jefferson

Jeffery Looney, Piketon

Robert McCoy, Salem

Brian Mowen, East Canton

Robert Stoviak, Canton


Robert Brewer, Tulsa

Charolette Ledford, Oklahoma City

Scott Murphy, Glenpool

Jessie Saylor, Grove


Richard Burrows, Titusville

Kenneth Bramm - 2 Million Miler, Covington

South Carolina

Robert White, Pickens


Ralph Jones - 2 Million Miler, Blountville

Dennis King, Kingsport

Justin Tetreault, Lebanon

John Webb, Parsons


Juan Aguirre, Laredo

Lanny Atteberry, Sandia

Philip Everling, Waxahachie

Thomas Garcia, El Paso

Terry Gunter, Valley Mills

Adrian Martin, Bedias

Jay Moore, Quemado

Jorge Pacheco, Houston

Gustavo Sanchez, Grand Prairie

Jimmy Weeks, Alvin

David Yancy, Sr., Grand Prairie


Denis Knight, Sandy


Charles Millar - 2 Million Miler, Radford

John Ross - 2 Million Miler, Greenville

Craig Smith, Christiansburg

Mark Webb - 3 Million Miler, Christiansburg

David Wilson, Abingdon

West Virginia

Robert Logan, Morgantown


Harlan Carter, Pittsville

Dennis Eastman, New London

Craig Mallet, Milwaukee

Ronald Reinhardt - 2 Million Miler, Lena


David Dubuc, Burlington

Anthony Pelehos, Spencerville

About Landstar

Landstar System, Inc. is a non-asset based provider of integrated supply chain solutions. Landstar delivers safe, specialized transportation, warehousing and logistics services to a broad range of customers worldwide utilizing a network of agents, third-party capacity owners and employees. All Landstar transportation companies are certified to ISO 9001:2008 quality management system standards and RC14001:2008 environmental, health, safety and security management system standards. Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville, Florida. Its common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock Market® under the symbol LSTR.