Landstar Honors One Three Million, Four Two Million and 35 One Million Mile Safe Drivers

Tags: Press Releases

October 22, 2001 Jacksonville, Florida - Landstar System, Inc., a safety-first transportation and information services company, has recognized one Three Million, four Two Million and 35 One Million Mile Safe Drivers. The 40 business capacity owners were honored for their professionalism and outstanding safety records at a recent awards banquet in Jacksonville, Florida. The ceremony is part of Landstar's Annual Appreciation Days, when the company hosts a week-long open house, National Safe Truck Driving Championship, safety and technology seminars and small business workshops.

To become a Landstar Million Mile Safe Driver, a professional truck operator must drive at least one million consecutive accident and claim-free miles. That's equal to 357 trips from New York to Los Angeles or two round trips to the moon.

"These individuals set the standard for safety and service industry wide," said Landstar Chairman and CEO Jeff Crowe. "Earning the title of Million Mile Safe Driver is an exceptional accomplishment. Most of them have worked more than 10 years to reach this point in their careers, and there aren't many people, in any career, who can say they've worked that long, without making a mistake. Everyone at Landstar is proud to be associated with the people who keep America on the move - on time and safely."

The addition of this year's class brings the total number of Landstar business capacity owners who have earned the title of One, Two or Three Million Mile Safe Driver to 415.

This year's Three Million Mile Safe Driver is: Franklin Burnett, Carmi, IL.

This year's Two Million Mile Safe Drivers are: David Myles, Harwood, MD; John "Tip" Nunn, Tazewell, TN; Arthur B. Trezise, Adamsburg, PA; Jimmy Wingfield, Newark, CA.

This year's One Million Mile Safe Drivers are: Claude B. Ashby, Lexington, NC; Randy Bowman, Oak Harbor, OH; Nathan J. Bryan, Dayton, OH; William G. Chamberlin, Eden, NY; Dennis Depoy, New Market, VA; Wayne Dougherty, Ocala, FL; David Dunn, Ft. Gratiot, MI; David L. Edinger, Tully, NY; Martin David Fisher, Canton, NC; Jerry W. Gentry, Huntingdon, TN; Ronald Gibson, Clearfield, KY; Norris Jeffers, Columbus, OH; Roy Johnson, Birch Tree, MO; John Carson Kratzer, Byron, GA; Gary Larson, Cambria, WI; Othie Lloyd, Shawnee, OK; Howard Lockaby, Indianapolis, IN; Arnold Minot, Cumberland, RI; Terry W. Mitchell, Lily, KY; Ralph Moore, Darlington, PA; Billy S. Osborne, Eastern, KY; Michael Podraza, Rubicon, WI; Emil B. Radtke, Round Lake Beach, IL; Kenneth Rasmussen, Clitherall, MN; Charles Remington, Charleston, SC; H. Robert Ritchey, Clarksville, AR; Glen Rylott, Sandy Creek, NY; Francis Marion Short, Burlington, IA; Floyd Stanbery, Rainsville, AL; Oscar Roy Sweeney, Christiansburg, VA; Steven Douglas Tillett, Sulphur, KY; Joey Victory, Dawson Springs, KY; Ronald W. Walker, Monticello, KY; Howard White, Meridian, MS; Herman Winn, Spotslyvania, VA.

Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville, Florida. The Landstar carrier group, comprised of Landstar Gemini, Inc., Landstar Inway, Inc., Landstar Ligon, Inc. and Landstar Ranger, Inc., delivers excellence in complete over-the-road transportation services. The Landstar multimodal group, comprised of Landstar Express America, Inc. and Landstar Logistics, Inc., delivers excellence in expedited, contract logistics and intermodal transportation services. All Landstar operating companies are certified to ISO 9001:2000 quality management system standards. Landstar System, Inc.'s common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock MarketĀ® under the symbol LSTR.