Landstar Honors 2006 Class of Million Mile Safe Drivers

Tags: Press Releases

Jacksonville, Florida – (NASDAQ: LSTR) Landstar System, Inc., a safety-first non-asset-based provider of transportation and logistics services, has recognized 81 men and women for their outstanding safety records and professionalism behind the wheel.

The business capacity owners (BCOs) were honored as Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers at a recent awards banquet in Jacksonville. BCO is Landstar's term for the independent contractors who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease arrangements.

Collectively, these 81 BCOs have safely driven a total of 91 million miles – a distance that would cover the 4 million miles of public roads in the United States nearly 23 times. On average, it takes a truck operator 10 years to travel a million miles. The distance would take the typical driver of a passenger vehicle 67 years – around the time of their 83 rd birthday – to complete.

Leading the 2006 class are 10 BCOs who have reached 2 million miles without a preventable accident. Included in that group is Landstar's first female BCO to reach the 2 million mile mark, Helen Eanes of Christiansburg , Virginia . The other 2 Million Milers are Alvin Adams of Pisgah, Alabama; James Block of Eland, Wisconsin; Richard Buckner of Ratcliff, Arkansas; Robert Conner of Lake City, Florida; Ray Price of Cookeville, Tennessee; Michael Schmieks of Oxford, Maine; Edward Stepanek of Heber Springs, Arkansas; Richard Swaim of Elwood, Indiana and Dennis Treff of Tiger, Georgia.

In addition, 71 BCOs were honored for driving 1 million consecutive miles without an accident or freight claim. Among that group, Douglas Reeder of Machesney Park, Illinois, is the third BCO to reach the 1 million mile mark for Landstar Express America, which specializes in expedited freight.

"The professionalism and driving skills that these men and women demonstrate are prime examples of the discipline and focus on safety that is the foundation of Landstar. We at Landstar are extremely proud of them," said Landstar President and CEO Henry Gerkens.

About Landstar:

Landstar System, Inc. delivers safe, specialized transportation services to a broad range of customers worldwide. The Company identifies and fulfills shippers' needs through the coordination of individual businesses comprised of independent sales agents and third-party transportation capacity providers. Landstar's carrier group, which is comprised of Landstar Gemini, Inc., Landstar Inway, Inc., Landstar Ligon, Inc., Landstar Ranger, Inc. and Landstar Carrier Services, Inc., delivers excellence in complete over-the-road transportation services. Landstar's global logistics group, which is comprised of Landstar Global Logistics, Inc. and its subsidiaries Landstar Express America, Inc. and Landstar Logistics, Inc., provides international and domestic multimodal (over-the-road, air, ocean and rail) transportation, expedited, contract logistics and warehousing services. All Landstar operating companies are certified to ISO 9001:2000 quality management system standards. Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville, Florida. Its common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock Market® under the symbol LSTR.


Alvin Adams, Pisgah - 2 Million Miler

William Cleary, Marion

Alton Craig, Paint Rock


James Gamble, Buckeye

Paul Gardner, Vail

Robert Long, Apache Junction

Marty McPherson, Goodyear


Joe Bailey, Mountain Home

Richard Buckner, Ratcliff - 2 Million Miler

Lee Edwards Jr., Monette

Edward Stepanek, Heber Springs - 2 Million Miler


Curt Conway, Poway

Mario Gonzalez, Sun City

Jose Perez, San Fernando


Robert Conner, Lake City - 2 Million Miler

Dennis Robertson, Lakeland

Floyd Warhurst, Loxahatchee


Dennis Treff, Tiger - 2 Million Miler


David Ashe, Rockford

Douglas Reeder, Machesney Park

George Sherren, Petersburg

Acie Wroten, Hazel Crest


Dale Aleshire, Terre Haute

Harold Beasley, Lake Village

Richard Swaim, Elwood - 2 Million Miler

Mark Unger, Rossville


John Chastain, Murray

Justion Duff, Kuttawa

Edward Flood, Hardinsburg

Christie Lambert, Corbin

Michael McAuliffe, Madisonville


Michael Schmieks, Oxford - 2 Million Miler


David Lentner, Sebewaing

Neal Nelson Jr., Tipton

Benny Reed, Hermansville

Stu Smith, Gaylord


William Nietfeld, Sartell

Paul Peterson, Grand Rapids


William Guk, Mathiston

Larry Leslie, Sandersville

Danny Trull, Eupora

Ronald Walters, Ellisville


Steve Kadie, Sidney


Luis Alvarez, Reno

New Mexico

Bill Munn, Las Cruces

New York

Kenneth Gonyea Jr., Massena

Charles Howick, Hamburg

North Carolina

Charles Edwards Jr., Rockwell

Oswald Madray, Charlotte

Earl McCraw, Mount Airy

North Dakota

John Miller, Jamestown


Richard Harris, Canton

Ronald King, Senecaville

Richard Presar, Wapakoneta


Malcolm Corse, Quinton

Charles Hankins, Grove

Kevee Ramsey, Konawa

G. Don Woodlee, Fort Towson


Tony Dewey, Lewistown

Donald Fair, Butler

South Carolina

Allen Spann, Sumter


Kenneth Caldwell, Ashland City

Paul Henry, Nashville

Ray Price, Cookeville - 2 Million Miler

William Sheckels, Clarksville

Lanny Smith, Murfreesboro


Ray Anderson, Houston

William Callaham, Cleveland

Manuel Curtright, Gainesville

Dennis Victor, Hamlin

Randy Willson, Abernathy


James Hendrickson, Orem


Larry Corvin, Crockett

Helen Eanes, Christiansburg - 2 Million Miler

Kenneth Kiser, Vinton


James Block, Eland - 2 Million Miler

Dennis Lewer, Mosinee

Warren McCurdy, Readstown


Michael Lance, Hagersville, Ontario

Thomas Quinton, Sarnia, Ontario

Wesley Rak, York, Ontario