Landstar Honors 2008 Class of Million Mile Safe Drivers

Tags: Press Releases

Jacksonville, Florida – (NASDAQ: LSTR) Landstar System, Inc., a safety-first non-asset-based provider of transportation and logistics services, has recognized 80 men and women for their outstanding safety records and professionalism behind the wheel.

The business capacity owners (BCOs) were honored as Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers at a recent awards banquet in Jacksonville, Florida. BCO is Landstar’s term for the independent contractors who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease arrangements.

Collectively, these 80 BCOs have safely driven a total of 92 million miles – a distance that would cover the 4 million miles of public roads in the United States 23 times. On average, it takes a truck operator 10 years to travel a million miles. This distance would take the typical driver of a passenger vehicle 67 years – around the time of their 83rd birthday – to complete.

Leading the 2008 class are 3 Million Milers Fred Durbin of Corinth, Mississippi, and Tommy Stiles of Christiansburg, Virginia.

In addition, eight BCOs reached the 2 million mile mark: Roger Bell, Lewis Center, Ohio; Bruce Bryant, Mobile, Alabama; Robert Dubreuil, Adams, Massachusetts; Bill Higgins, Catawba, South Carolina; George Prewitt, Elgin, Texas; Steven Tillett, Sulphur, Kentucky; Duane Vorst, Columbus Grove, Ohio; and Gary Wahl, Lowell, Wisconsin.

Seventy BCOs were honored for the first time for driving 1 million consecutive miles without an accident or freight claim.

“Each year, Landstar takes the opportunity to recognize and honor those BCOs who choose to put safety first every time they get behind the wheel,” said Landstar President and CEO Henry Gerkens. “Their outstanding safety records are a tribute to their dedication and commitment to over the road safety. We’re proud to be associated with such accomplished professionals.”

The 80 BCOs bring the total number of active BCOs who have earned the Million Mile title to 608.

2008 Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers

Bruce Bryant - 2 Million Miler, Mobile

B. J. Stephens, Jacksonville

Charles Warren, Semmes

Gene Williamson, Gadsden


Duane Bartlett, Peoria

Lancer Hicks, Tucson


Steven Lampi, Silver Springs

Sharon Northcutt, Navarre

Troy Peninger, Bushnell

Roger Wirick, Wewahitchka


Calvin Edmund, Baxley

Jeanne Koehl, Tunnel Hill


Joyce Vassar, Nampa


Thomas Barczewski, Granite City

Mark Eamon, Aurora

Richard Grogan, Edwardsviller

Jeffrey Hayen, Rock Falls

James Kepner, Walnut


Dale Brown, St. Croix
Mark Dillingham, Valparaiso
Wayne Fretz, Warsaw

LaVern Penner, Buhler

Ralph Bundy Jr., Louisville
Fred Foster, Monticello
Ledale Kavanaugh, Waco
Albert Smith, Hartford
Steven Tillett - 2 Million Miler, Sulphur

Richard Culpepper, Leesville

Robert Dubreuil - 2 Million Miler, Adams

Larry Beldock, Imlay City
William Brubacher, Brutus
Rodney Kuhns, Newaygo
Al Sidell, Monroe
Edward Siders, Romulus
Thomas Simmons, Utica

Konstantinos Dedakis, Livonia

Fred Durbin - 3 Million Miler, Corinth

Clifford Jameson, Cross Timbers
Robert Orman, Fulton
Rex Rackley, Gideon

Jeff Schall, Benedict

Edwing Ventura, Las Vegas

New Jersey
Gary Myers, Old Bridge

New Mexico
Steve Gutierrez, Las Cruces

New York
Theresa Capria, Brewerton
Richard St. Coeur, Watertown

North Carolina
Jerry Baker, Charlotte
Ron Karchaske, Charlotte
Victor Lofton, Goldsboro
Bill Parker, Lexington
Dickie Penrod, Fayetteville

Roger Bell - 2 Million Miler, Lewis Center
John Erman, Fostoria
Fred Green, Jefferson
Duane Vorst - 2 Million Miler, Columbus Grove

Daniel “Jake” Jacob, Choctaw
Donald Ward, Guthrie
Larnell Woods, Oklahoma City

Larry Daub, Bethel
Edward James, Punxsutawney
Alan Levine, West Chester
Robert Lynn, Greensburg
Ed Murray Jr., Sarver

South Carolina
Bob Boley, Goose Creek
Bill Higgins - 2 Million Miler, Catawba
Herbert Lawrence Jr., Liberty
Sylvester Young, Lexington

Jerry Brown, Chapmansboro
William Brown, Milan
Jeffrey Pack, Old Hickory
Robert Wilson, Oak Ridge

Ricardo Barrera, Laredo
Marian Bijas, Roanoke
James Byars, Clyde
Gary Denham, Laredo
Duane Griffith, Abilene
Joe McArthur, Simonton
George Prewitt - 2 Million Miler, Elgin

Tommy Stiles - 3 Million Miler, Christiansburg

West Virginia
Brian Bates, Fairmont

Thomas Murray, Janesville
Wesley Oye, Mazomanie
Gary Wahl - 2 Million Miler, Lowell


Slawomir Jastrzabek, Chateauguay
Juraj Smirina, Laval-Ouest

David Parkin, St. Catharine’s

About Landstar

Landstar System, Inc. delivers safe, specialized transportation and logistics services to a broad range of customers worldwide. The Company identifies and fulfills shippers’ needs through the coordination of individual businesses comprised of independent sales agents and third-party transportation and logistics capacity providers. Through its operating subsidiaries, Landstar delivers excellence in complete transportation logistics services and solutions. All Landstar operating companies are certified to ISO 9001:2000 quality management system standards. Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville, Florida. Its common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock Market® under the symbol LSTR.