Landstar Honors Newest Class of Million Mile Safe Drivers

Tags: Press Releases

Jacksonville, Florida (NASDAQ-LSTR) Landstar System, Inc., a non-asset based provider of integrated supply chain solutions delivering safe, specialized transportation, warehousing and logistics services, has recognized 101 men and women for their outstanding safety records and professionalism behind the wheel.

The business capacity owners (BCOs) were honored as Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers at a recent awards banquet in Jacksonville, Florida. BCO is Landstar’s term for the independent contractors who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease arrangements.

Collectively, these 101 BCOs have safely driven a total of 109 million miles – a distance that would cover the 4 million miles of public roads in the United States 27 times. On average, it takes a truck operator 10 years to travel a million miles. This distance would take the typical driver of a passenger vehicle 67 years – around the time of their 83rd birthday – to complete.

Leading the 2009 class is 3 Million Mile Safe Driver Charles Page of Hartford, Kentucky.

In addition, six BCOs reached the 2 million mile mark: Wayne Bennett, Hanson, Kentucky; Dennis Depoy, New Market, Virginia; Arnold Minot, Cumberland, Rhode Island; Billy Osborne, Eastern, Kentucky; Slawomir Szuba, Norwood Park, Illinois; and Andrew Whitehead, Marana, Arizona.

Ninety four BCOs were honored for the first time for driving 1 million consecutive miles without a preventable accident.

“These men and women are among the safest and most talented professional owner-operators in the industry,” said Landstar Chairman, President and CEO Henry Gerkens. “Their outstanding safety records are a tribute to their dedication and commitment to over the road safety. We’re proud to be associated with such accomplished professionals.”

This class of 101 brings the total number of active BCOs who have earned the Million Mile title to 639.

The Class of 2009 Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers

Boyce Erwin, Moody

Norman Harris, Bessemer

Allen Howard, Ohatchee

Charles Prater, Oxford

James Tidmore, Gadsden


James Haselden, Benson

Carl McFadden, Bullhead City

Francisco Velez, Nogales

Andrew Whitehead - 2 Million Miler, Marana


Otis Suggs, West Memphis

Harvey Taylor, Rogers


Ricardo Marquez, Victorville

Alfredo Orozco, Solvang

Richard Winters, Wildomar


Kerry Jordan, Grand Junction


Hugh Anderson, Crestview

James Baister, Pierson

Austin Bump, Eustis

William Downing, Live Oak

Walter Leitz, St. Augustine

Walter Littlefield, Vero Beach

Stephen Tracey, Dunnellon

Gary Worden, Bagdad


Jeff Head, Gainesville

Barry Irick, Blackshear

Jimmie Maxwell, Augusta


Randall Bohling, Mountain Home


Carl David, Decatur

Ross Lawson, Petersburg

Michael Real, Montgomery

Gary Ring, Virginia

Slawomir Szuba - 2 Million Miler, Norwood Park


Thomas Ritter, Belle Plaine


Leonard Cornelius, New Palestine

Robert Jurashen, Bedford


Wayne Bennett - 2 Million Miler, Hanson

Blake Kessel, Radcliff

Paula Mason, Vanceburg

Billy Osborne - 2 Million Miler, Eastern

Charles Page - 3 Million Miler, Hartford

Bobby Whitworth, Hudson


Kevin Satcher, New Orleans


John Babine, Plymouth

Reginald Billado, Sumner

William Tyler, Auburn


Beverly Peterson, Grand Rapids


Johnny Lowery, Mize

Gerald Ward, Little Rock

Robert Wilson, Little Rock


Charles Lowrance, Lebanon

Steven Neal, Meadville

William Ragland, Warsaw

Gary Reinbold, Oak Grove


Daniel Kelley, Omaha


Michael Pangallo, Las Vegas

New York

Richard Kohl, Adams Center

North Carolina

Stephen Coiffi, Indian Trail

Randy Nelson, Robbins

Robert Phillips, Jamestown


Joe Bender, Canton

Kim Dye, Wooster

Mark Hill, Boardman

Harold Martin, Leipsic


Justin Brammer, Marlow

Monte Stapp, Muldrow

Marcella Woodlee, Fort Towson


Christopher Skultety, Stanfield


Gary Deemer, Bolivar

Daniel Schulz, Grove City

Rhode Island

Arnold Minot - 2 Million Miler, Cumberland

South Carolina

Lyle Anderson, Aiken

Ronald Franklin, Wagner

Clarence McDonald, Wallace

William Rutledge, Eutawville


Carolyn Bazzell, Adamsville

Scott Broom, Medina

Thomas Brown, Cosby

Dennis Burns, Brentwood

Carolyn Limbaugh, Leoma

Robert Stansberry, Murfreesboro


Antonio Garza, Laredo

Billy Hatley, Abilene

Ronald Hill, Amarillo

Joy Mattice, Onalaska

Rudolph Menefee, Ferris

Scott Novick, Santa Fe

Harold Stewart, Lindale

Jonathan Young, Laredo


Dennis Depoy - 2 Million Miler, New Market

Les Johnson, Abingdon

James Smith, Drakes Branch


Donald Lang, Federal Way

West Virginia

Evelyn McDonald, Inwood


Robert Birner, Warrens

James Elliott, Winter


Ray Pierce, Evanston


Niko Thiessen, Horndean


Dennis Dowsett, Windsor

Frank Little, Bracebridge

Klaus Pazilli, Cochrane

About Landstar

Landstar System, Inc. is a non-asset based provider of integrated supply chain solutions. Landstar delivers safe, specialized transportation, warehousing and logistics services to a broad range of customers worldwide utilizing a network of agents, third-party capacity owners and employees. All Landstar transportation companies are certified to ISO 9001:2000 quality management system standards. Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville, Florida. Its common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock Market® under the symbol LSTR.